site image

Testimonials

Testimonials

God Bless you all for what you do for people.
My friend told me what you did for our friends who were poor.
I have not used your services, but I will if I die, and I will tell others.
I live in San Pedro. You even refused to take the money when they were able to pay you. Who does that?
Please stay.

A long time San Pedro resident (waterfront)
November 21, 2017

I agree with the last post. Judah gave me back money on my insurance pre need policy. He did not spend it all like I thought most funeral homes do.
It was so nice to have extra money to take care of some bills.
Why does he do this? He really is a service not a money making business.
My family and I really appreciate what Judah and his wife maria did for us.
Note. We were at another funeral home and changed to Argos, beacuse of first the price, then we met Judah and it all changed. The other funeral home wanted to keep all the money.

M.
October 20, 2017

Mr. Judah and Maria, thank you for helping me with my cremation, when I had very little money. I had no place else to go. No body wanted to take my little money. You did. God Bless you both. I will remenber this forever

someone who needed help
October 17, 2017

THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!

Brenda K.
September 14, 2017

Fly me to the Moon!
Next time. Judah and Maria, thank you both so very much for making this terrible unexpected death, become a joy and celebration in my life, and my families. You took a very serious situation, and turned it into a joyful experience. Judah, you really should consider running for a public office, we need your type of enthusiasm, humor, and raw truth.
Again, thank you both for helping me.

Kay H.
September 8, 2017

Argos Funeral Services, specifically Judah and Maria, were a blessing. When death enters into the picture, things can become heavy and cloudy. With Argos, we were able to negotiate the hurdle with greater confidence and comfort. They provided excellent service which included in-home planning, frequent updates/communication, very reasonable rates, no pressure to buy, streamlined and competent review of paperwork, dignity for the deceased, and respect and warmth with the family. Thank you for making far worthwhile when we took a chance on using Argos. We would highly recommend their services. Thank you, Judah and Maria.

Kristin
September 1, 2017

Love the Lunar!!!

Jennifer J.
August 14, 2017

Argos Funeral Services by far is most ethical and straight funeral provider we have found...ever. Their at need prices are the same for their pre needs. Now that is something different.

R Rubenstein
July 21, 2017

Its amazing what comes out a place like this. Judah and Maria have done an outstanding job in the cremation of my Father. They were quick, excellent pricing, excellent service, and so many other customer service skills.
Judah is one of a kind. I believe he is so absorbed in the experience. His heart and soul is in it. There are no words other than what I have written to express our appreciation for a job and experience well done.

J.W
May 23, 2017

I wish to thank Argos Funeral Services for a job well done. I also wish to thank the people at Gateway Crematory for helping us expedite our loved ones cremation. Joseph, Thank You, and your staff.
Ben Hur, what can I write. Your compassion and feelings were so comforting. Thank you, thank you all.
God Bless.

Doris of Southbay
May 5, 2017

I am very pleased with the professional performance of this local mortuary.
Cremation pricing is fantastic! I know, I checked the local funeral homes in the South Bay, and a little beyond, and found $620 just right. I noticed that they offer a pre arrangement plan that is actually the same as their advertised price. What a great deal! I will be using them for many other services and of course signing up for a pre plan. I am in the medical community, and will pass on my findings and experience to the community.
Its amazing what a small group of people can do for a reasonable price.

Donald M.
April 25, 2017

Great service, Great price. Waiting for them to get bigger location.

Janice M.
April 7, 2017

Judah, what would we do without you and your kind services. I and my family deeply thank you for you devoted time you spent with us to plan out our funeral. We are ever in debt to you for your kindness and compassion. I wonder how you can afford to discount. We already did not have much, and you matched the money we had. God will forever bless you for your work.
You even refused to accept a gratuity at the end, and told us to use it for someone that is less fortunate than us. You are a kind man, Judah. God bless you for everything.
People reading this, as others have written, this is a person who should not be taken advantage of, he is a Godsend.

John T.
March 27, 2017

Judah Ben Hur, what you did for me and my family cannot be put into words. I cannot even thank you for your genuine service. We came to you with not much money and that did not even matter to you.
You still provided us the service we wished for. You did not make any money on our service, I know, I checked. You said you are a service not a business, I now understand. You said each person has their own special need, and you are here to fulfill that need. God is good to you, Judah because you are good to others. People, who read this, please don’t take advantage of Judah, he is here for a reason to help us all who have needs. I was fortunate that Milestone Hospice provided us with your caring spirit.

A Milestone Hospice referral

Dorothy
March 3, 2017

Judah, you are the "Man"!!! Thank you for doing everything to make my Mothers cremation process so wonderful.

Thomas
February 23, 2017

Judah and Maria, you took a very difficult time in our lives and made it worry free. Ruben and I can't thank you enough for your services and also for introducing us to Father Anthony and Alfonso. The service was beautiful, everything we were hoping for and more. Thank you for going the extra mile for us, we truly appreciate your generosity and honesty. I would recommend your services anytime and every time. Good luck with all your future endeavors.

Silvana Johnson
February 16, 2017

Some of the most caring and compassionate people in the business that we have met. Prices are a factor and was in our decision to use Argos Funeral Services. The service was more than what you would have expected.
We live in Torrance, and are quite pleased with this new addition of funeral home in our community. We have been using the others in the area for years. We like this new one Argos Funeral Services.

Joanne M
Torrance Residence

Joanne M Torrance Residence
January 31, 2017

This place is GREAT!!! Low prices, great services, and honest.
Thank you for taking care of my cremation for my Mum.

Joyce.D
January 19, 2017

I would like to take this opportunity to thank the entire staff at Argos Funeral Services for their very professional attitude and compassion towards the death of my sister. The response time was reasonable for the transportation, the phone conference call, and the electronic paperwork went smooth. I was impressed with their accuracy and speed. What sticks out in mind is the candor that was displayed by Judah throughout the entire process. What a consummate master of his craft. His personality is far from unique, he seems to be on the fringe of genius. He can transform a stressful experience into something completely “off the wall”, unconventional in his approach. You go away feeling good about yourself.
Anyway, would I recommend them for others like you, reading this? Without a doubt. Not your typical Mortuary, by any means.

Dr. D.S
January 6, 2017

Thank you for all you have done to make the passing of my Daddy more bearable. I cannot understand why you are so kind and understanding, Judah. Whatever you were in the past, is not the same person of today. God has a calling for you, you should listen. God Bless

A Christian Soldier
January 3, 2017

Judah, Thank you so very much for taking care of my Mom. My family and I really appreciate your efforts. I know we were hard on you, but you did not let that bother you a bit. We were all stressed out, and you were so kind to us, even when we were not. We will always use your services. God Bless you, Judah.

F. Lotulelei
December 30, 2016

Judah and Maria, thank you for taking care of my Papa. It was very hard to let him go. My family and I appreciate all your hard work to make the cremation happen so quickly, so we could have a service. You both will be in our hearts forever. God bless you both. Sorry it took so long to leave a comment.

Martha R.
December 24, 2016

Thank you Judah for being being honest with me and helping me with my moms cremation. I really miss her.

Delores M.
December 20, 2016

Argos Funeral Services is a place to take care of your loved one without the overpriced expense of a funeral. Their cremations are very reasonable.
I am glad that I was part of my families funeral decision. I found Argos Funeral Services when I did a search in Torrance. Thank You.

Joseph M.
December 15, 2016

I really like these people. Very compassionate and honest. Pricing is fair. Customer service is excellent. Location is good for Torrance/South bay.
I only found about them thru a Hospice worker. Maybe they should advertise more in our area. 5 Stars.

George T.
December 9, 2016

I really do not understand how these people at Argos Funeral Services can be so kind. I was upfront about my money problems, and they discounted me so I could bury my love one. I did not know what else to do. I went to many funeral homes in south bay, and they turned me down, because of my lack of funds. They said they would work with me, but at an inflated price over time. Why do funeral homes take advantage of people, when they are sad. God brought me to these people, and I am thankful. My situation was different than others. They did not even flinch when I told them of my situation. Ben Hur is a person that really understands people. I pray that this funeral home becomes the beacon we all need in our worst times.
Kelly M. of Wilmington

Kelly M. of Wilmington
December 2, 2016

Argos Funeral Services, congratulations on your wonderful informative video. Love the raw honesty.
Good luck, and welcome to the South Bay! We needed a funeral home like yours in our area, now we can make choices!

G. Madison
Proud Senior Citizen

G. Madison, Proud Senior Citizen
November 19, 2016

I too, saw the video about Argos Funeral Services.

I had no idea that a funeral home could be so diverse, and talented.

This is one of the better television exposé that I have seen in a very long time.
The players seem so natural and relaxed.

One of my friends in the entertainment industry forwarded the video to me.

Argos Funeral Services is on to something with their Lunar, Nordic and Full Body Burial at sea.

I think a follow up with Argos Funeral Services is in order.

Judah Ben Hur, what a name. Fits the “big” guy in the video.
I am sure that “Chuck” would have smiled.

I really think that Argos Funeral Services is on to something.

They have a great range of unique products/services to offer.

I don’t know about pricing, because I am not in the market yet, thank god!

I like the Lunar and the Nordic Burial for myself.

They do all of this without advertising? Word of Mouth? What a twist of business strategy.

God bless them for stepping outside of the “pack”. Their risk will eventually pay off.

They certainly got my attention.

I also am involved in the entertainment business world. Sounds like a story to follow.

With the advent of space travel, this funeral home is on to something great and historic.

Yes, I agree that Laura Fong did a wonderful job exposing this new innovative funeral service to the world.

I will pass on this video to some colleagues, maybe they can help.

There is no doubt allot of people with deep pockets will want to go to the moon, if they know that option exists.

With the name, Argos and Judah Ben Hur, how can you not notice!

The website in itself is very unique, in a good way for a funeral home. Love the gifs.

Argos Funeral Services is a business to follow for the future.

Sincerely,
A seasoned entertainment executive

Sincerely, A seasoned entertainment executive
November 18, 2016

Just saw your TV show on Common Cents. Now we have faces to Argos. I like it all!
The raw honesty is rare in business. I had no idea the type of services that can be offered. THE MOON!!!
These people REALLY think outside the BOX!!!
Who cares about prices when you have people who give a SH.t.
Great first start on TV, Argos, you guys will go national one day.
I hope your sincerity becomes infectious to other funeral homes, and to the consumer.
I also am in the entertainment business. I got this link from a friend. Judah Ben Hur, what a name. This guy is a natural actor. Great way to get someone’s attention with that name and his conviction.
Shawn did great with explaining the process, seems to be a lovely person.
Time to go Hollywood!
I don’t need services yet, but I will tell my friends about the moon.
Laura Fong did a great job. She has a promising career ahead as a news anchor.
Cannot wait to see the TV commercial for Lunar Burials from Argos with next year’s Super Bowl.
B. Studio Head, Burbank, CA

B. Studio Head, Burbank, CA
November 17, 2016

We were recommended to Argos from our hospice to use Argos because of their quick and professional service. $590 with a death cert is unheard of these days. We paid that in the 80’s. “Back to the Future” prices. We are pleased with the choice. One day Argos service will be everywhere! PLEASE don’t raise your prices, like everyone else. One last thing to say, they do not have any hidden fees/charges for their service. We will spread the word in the Rolling Hills area.
REM esg

REM esg
November 13, 2016

The best price for cremation. I know, I signed up for 3 for pre-needs. At need price of $590 is insane, I love it. Cannot beat their full burial pricing. Lunar burials are the future, and it started here in my city of Torrance, CA. Would I recommend them? What do you think?

Robert of Torrance
November 8, 2016

Argos Funeral Services is a funeral Home, that one day will be the gold standard for all funeral homes. I hope as they grow they can get the right people to manage it. The core team now is the BEST!!
They took care of us. People...this is the one... I am referring them in our entertainment industry.

JNK, Studio Executive
October 27, 2016

To be quite honest, we searched around the internet for what we thought would be the lowest price direct cremation, and we found a multitude of cremation societies like weeds in a forest. Everyone positioning themselves as the cheapest, we come to you, we deliver, we are better than everyone else, check us out, etc., etc. Then when you call, it’s even worse. These are supposed to be caring people…NOT. All about the money…give me, give me. As a consumer, it’s scary to search the internet for some mortuary that will handle your request, to take care of your love one. Who cares about the fancy google ads, and the hype…Pick me, pick me!!! It’s a circus. The FTC should really take a closer look at funeral home advertising and their methods to trick us into using their funeral service.
I am frustrated with the rhetoric and deception that runs rampant on the internet. Even the good old funeral homes are in the game. In my opinion it’s all a mess. Just give me a simple cremation for a simple price without trying to sell me the world. If I need an urn or something else, I will ask. My god they charge for everything. Don’t let me get started on burial prices. It’s better to buy a new car.
Well, enough rant. Who did we choose in the forest, it’s obvious… not a weed, after all I wrote a testimonial on Argos Funeral Services website. All I will say is, call them, look at their website, go see them if you can, and judge for yourself. I am a very critical person, and I accept that. It worked for me PERFECTLY, and that is all that matters. God bless everyone, and I am sorry for your loss.
DR. R. E.
Rancho Palos Verdes

DR. R. E.
October 17, 2016

My family and I wish to thank each and every one of you, Shawn, Judah, and Maria for a service well executed. What a lasting impression all of you made. The no stress felling that each of you present. We did not even feel like we were at a funeral home. We felt we were at someone’s home. The time spent on the phone with Judah was almost an hour. He explained everything. We did contact other funeral homes in the area, and we felt rushed on the phone, and we felt we were being SOLD to come in.
Judah even gave us names of other funeral homes in the area, if we did not decide to go with Argos Funeral Services. The genuine sincerity in all three of these people, made the entire experience a celebration. Thank you all for everything. Thanks for choosing the South bay as your new place of business
J.K. and Family

J.K. and Family
October 11, 2016

Shawn, Maria, Judah, and John Thank you all for a wonderful service.
We are so glad you are in Torrance. Now we finally have a funeral home that truly helps those that need help. I agree with the last poster, that you all give allot more than you take.
Fa'afetai Fa'afetai tele

Teuila
October 3, 2016

Argos Funeral Services is great!
Now let’s write about Judah. I have never met a funeral person, like this person.
Instant impression…. A real person, with real feelings. He really felt sad that my father passed. I could feel it as did my other family members. From the phone contact to the in person contact, what an experience. I have never felt this close before to a funeral home. It was almost surreal with the sincere respect given to my father and to all of us that were part of my father’s celebration.
Maria and Shawn were also fantastic people to work with. I love Marias accent. All so innocent.
Judah is a personal experience. He definitely gives more than he takes.
Argos builds relationships without the stress of trying to sell, sell, sell!
I am glad they came to Torrance. We now can finally choose something extraordinarily different, from the same old mortuary business that we have been forced to use, because of our family’s tradition, to use your local funeral home. Well, we choose Argos Funeral Services.

BG and Family
September 29, 2016

What a great website! Love the name, ARGOS!!! The lunar burials are the best!!!!
We live in Rolling Hills. We are happy that we finally have another choice for funeral services. Prices are GREAT!!! Location is GREAT!!! You should advertise more. South Bays hidden jewel in Torrance.
We are definitely using you guys from now on. I will tell my friends at the racquet club …golf club…
The graphics are “off the hook”!
Welcome to our neighborhood!

Dr. JT
September 8, 2016

Thank you all for being there for us all during our most difficult time. We all have a much different impression of Funeral Homes now, that we worked with you. What a change, what a difference all of you made. Good luck on securing a bigger building in the future. The city of torrance needs a funeral home like yours to service us all. Thank you all.

Martha G
September 4, 2016

Congratulations on your article” Fly me to the Moon” in the Torrance Tribune. What a fantastic story!! We all cannot wait for the next one!
Torrance is the place to be especially when it involves an historic moment, like Moon Burials.
Fraternally Yours,
Your Brothers of Torrance

Fraternally Yours, Your Brothers of Torrance
August 6, 2016

I first want to say that I truly enjoyed myself at the Ribbon Cutting Ceremony on July 13. I was impressed with the whole thing. I have been to several Ribbon Cutting’s in Torrance, and I must say, this one was the best. The speech given by Judah Ben Hur was inspiring. Wow, what a name! He spoke with such conviction and enthusiasm. The food was excellent with servers!!! A Harpist, and those doves that each of us were able to hold and let fly away. It was so beautiful. And then there are the lunar burials. I never thought that I would live to see people finally buried on the moon. Argos does it. I spoke with my husband who is a huge Star Trek fan, and we both agree, even though pricey, we are going to both be buried on the moon together, or eventually. No one has died yet, but when they do we will use Argos to cremate or bury our loved ones, period. We are switching from the others mortuaries we have used in the past 30 years to Argos. This is defiantly the way to go. We and are our friends will help Argos grow in our community, and we welcome them to our city of Torrance.

Happily married 50 years, Husband and Wife
Torrance, CA

Happily married 50 years, Husband and Wife, Torrance, CA
July 23, 2016

It was an experience I will never forget. Argos Funeral Services, offers a unique “ole school” approach, by providing a legitimate service.

It’s very rare these days to find a business that prefers sincere value and customer service over pricing for everything.

We greatly appreciate the services provided. They are multi-cultural in experience.

They are the future of funeral home mortuary service. No gimmicks here, just good ole fashion service.

You guys will go far with your family friends owned business.

Thanks from our Hearts,

Doctor P.M and staff, family and great friends!

Dr. P.M and staff, family and great friends!
May 12, 2016

You guys are amazing. From the beginning to the end, you guys are very professional and kind. Thank you for help making this process a little less difficult. Thank you again, Candice Carrillo

C. Carrillo
April 8, 2016

After my son passed away I was very grief stricken, and as his mother, I had to be the one to make the arragements. I'm not in the same town as where he passed away at, so I had to randomly pick a place that would take care of everything for me. This was the only mortuary that was open 24 hours. From the beginning, David was very helpful and explained the procedure. A day later, the director, Shawn, called and she would be my contact until the end of it all. I have to say, they did everything right, and Shawn never failed to respond to my calls or emails. Thank you, from the bottom of my heart for being so attentive to me during this time.

KIMBERLY
April 7, 2016

An honest set of words to Argos Funeral Services Staff:

Let me first, tip my hat to everyone who attended our wonderful and delightful service.

We all really appreciate all of your condolences, they are so wonderful. The cards were beautiful.

I, know that I was the one selected, to research and carry out a dignified, tasteful, and sincere service. I, found myself searching the internet for a funeral home to make all the arraignments. I, was the delegated coordinator.
We have, and had many people traveling from very long distances within the united states, and abroad.

I, interviewed many funeral homes in the Los Angeles area.

I, happened upon in my search, discover this very unique inverted V. My curiosity got the best of me, and I took the plunge.
I, discovered a very unique funeral home, called Argos funeral services. I cannot begin to share with each and every one of you, the very sincere, brutally honest, and kind people that make up this menagerie of people, not characters that each of us are guilty of playing each and every day.

We are only celebrities to ourselves and our idols. The entire experience from the query call to the entire planning of the memorial service was well executed.

I, cannot begin, and will not begin to embellish you all in my total experience with Argos.

Each person knew exactly what to do, to accomplish this wonderful celebration of life of my dear sister, friend, teacher, my life and my family.

I will never ever forget the meditative intensity that I experienced working with these people.

They carried out my dear sisters wishes.

I, and many others, were impressed, humbled, and honored to have worked with such fine people. We all benefited from the experience.

The entire family, friends, and others thank you Argos funeral services for everything.

RL/DG/PV (three of us)
April 6, 2016

“I would like to give my deepest condolences for your loss…” Those words were bravely spoken by an individual who believes with conviction his feelings towards the loss of someone. From the initial call to David, to the Director in Charge, the whole experience was not like a well-rehearsed script, but performed by genuine caring. When you lose someone, as we did, its extremely important to find a mortuary service that really cares about your loss, and pays no direct attention to pricing for the goods or service. Argos Funeral Services was our choice because of its ethical stance. The entire process was seamless. The bonus, was the house call to arrange the planning. We are very private people. Our wishes were granted by the staff. We now recommend them in our “circle”.

N.R.
March 7, 2016

To the Entire Staff of Argos Funeral Services;

On behalf of my family and wonderful friends, we all wish to thank you deeply from our hearts. The planning of the service was beyond our expectations. Every detail was planned and executed with precision.

You are correct with the statement that “you are a service, not a business”.

We can only hope that Argos Funeral Services can expand within California, and hopefully other states as well. You cannot purchase better service than what you and your staff provided. It will be difficult to duplicate your core staff, but hopefully not impossible.

It is your staff that is Argos Funeral Services, not the place of business. In short, you get allot more than what you pay for.

I won’t mention that person’s name, but that person is one unique human being, in a genetic class of its own. We all agreed on that. What a unique character, that made our tears turn into joy.

May the Lord of the Universe bless you all!

Kimberly C.

Kimberly C.
January 30, 2016

I am a family member who initially contacted Argos Funeral Services to discuss funeral arrangements. The gentleman who answered the phone was very professional and very informative. I found out later, he was the answering service hired to ferret calls to the Funeral Home. Quite a novel idea. When I finally reached the person in charge, I must say, he was not what I expected. I will not use his name, per his request. Speaking to him, was like speaking to a friend or close associate. Definitely not what you would expect from the typical funeral home. Others in the past, sound so scripted and bothered by your inquiry. There was sincerity in his voice, a strong presence of concern, and “a matter of fact” tone. The planning was carried out to perfection. I am concerned about overall costs, but in this case, I think that Argos Funeral Services pricing is way too low, for the amount of professional services offered. But who am I to comment. Recommendation is a given.

A.H.
December 23, 2015

My family enlisted Argos Funeral Services for a Discrete Funeral Service for a memorial service we were having for my father. I was extremely impressed with the tactful and sensitive response that was given by the entire staff. The personalized service was far superior to even my own personal assistants, and I have many. I had a different impression of funeral homes, from experiences past. This experience is in a "class" of its own. My family and I are deeply humbled by the sincere work that was given to make this memorial service a memorable one forever. I will promote this service to everyone I know.

L.M. esq.
December 10, 2015

I wish to first thank each and every one of the staff at Argos FS for their fine work in planning and execution of our memorial service. We too had numerous guests from around the world attending this very important and private event. I wish they could plan other events for me, but such is fate.
I have already spoken to many people in my circle of contacts, that if ever they need a reliable service for their loved one, that Argos FS is the place to contact. What a diverse business this is. They will last long.

M. Carnegie
December 8, 2015

It has been a pleasure working with Argos Funeral Services. The detail planning they provided was First Class.

I will pass on their great service to many people that I know. Professional, kind, calming, and timely.

We had over 300 people attend our private memorial service without a "hitch".

What a paradigm change in the funeral business to find a company that truly provides honest service. I shop for service, and am not too concerned about pricing, as long as its fair for both. In this particular case, it was.

I wish for great success to Argos Funeral Services.

Stonebridge
November 30, 2015

To all of the staff,

My father died in the middle of the night. I got recording after recording till finally I heard a live voice on the line. To my surprise I was actually talking to a person and not a machine. You were so kind and gracious from that first phone call, through the memorial service and all the way through to the scattering of the ashes. You were there helping me make choices and they weren't even the most expensive choices. You knew my budget and helped me chose accordingly (Thank you for that). I know a lot of mortuaries are in it to make money, but I honestly felt you cared about my father not the money. You have truly touched my life with the genuine care I felt from everyone there. Thanks so much, I'll never forget what you did for me.

Dr. Gene
November 10, 2015

Congrads on your new venture. I love the layout and information that you provide. I will pass this on to my church. I work for a hospice organization.
I appreciate the no gimmicks approach. Good Luck!

Denise
November 2, 2015

What a brilliant website! The Logo is quite unique.

Steven
October 29, 2015

Your feedback

We are always interested in hearing from the families that we serve.  Please take a moment to let us know how well we served you in your time of need. We very much appreciate your feedback.

333

© 2017 Argos Funeral Services. All Rights Reserved.